Mamata’s Trinamool, Congress and Lalu’s party win polls as BJP draws blank

On Saturday, the Trinamool Congress wiped the slate clean by winning the Asansol Lok Sabha and Ballygunge assembly seats in West Bengal, while the Congress and the RJD won one constituency each in Maharashtra and Bihar in the bypolls of these seats, with the BJP drawing a blank.

Congress candidate Yashoda Verma maintained a significant lead over BJP’s Komal Janghel in the indirect vote of the Khairagarh Assembly in Chhattisgarh, where the count was underway.

In West Bengal, film actor turned politician Shatrughan Sinha of TMC beat Agnimitra Paul of BJP by 3,03,209 votes in Asansol. The BJP had won the seat in the Lok Sabha polls in 2019 by 1.97 lakh of the vote when Babul Supriyo, who was then in the BJP, beat Moon Moon Sen of TMC.

Supriyo, who was nominated by the TMC in the prestigious Ballygunge assembly constituency, beat CPI(M)’s Saira Shah Halim by a margin of 20,228 votes. BJP’s Keya Ghosh only managed to get 13,220 votes.

The partial vote, which took place on April 12, was necessary because Minister of State Subrata Mukherjee, who represented Ballygunge, died last year.

West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee thanked the voters of Asansol and Ballygunge for giving a decisive mandate to the TMC candidates.

“I sincerely thank the constituents of Asansol Parliamentary Constituency and Ballygunge Assembly Constituency for giving a decisive mandate to the candidates of the AITC party,” she tweeted.

“We consider this to be our people’s heartfelt Shubho Nababarsho gift to our Ma-Mati-Manush organization. Tribute to the voters for placing their trust in us, once again,” she added.

In Asansol, “Shotgun” Sinha said he was “grateful to the people of Asansol and to Mamata Banerjee for this victory”.

BJP state chairman Sukanta Majumdar said the general trend is that the ruling party in the state usually wins the by-elections.

To give a boost to the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) coalition in Maharashtra, the Congress won the indirect vote from the North Assembly constituency of Kolhapur, retaining the seat by beating the BJP by a margin of more than 18,000 votes.

Congress-MVA candidate Jayashri Jadhav garnered 96,176 votes, while BJP’s Satyajeet Kadam garnered 77,426 votes.

The by-election was necessitated by the death of incumbent Congressman Chandrakant Jadhav due to Covid in December 2021.

Jadhav thanked the voters and said the three MVA voters worked together to achieve victory.

Maharashtra Congress leader Nana Patole called the party’s victory a “victory for progressive thoughts”.

Bihar’s RJD opposition snatched the Bochahan assembly seat from the ruling NDA, with its candidate beating the BJP candidate by a wide margin of over 35,000 votes.

RJD candidate Amar Paswan, whose death of father Musafir Paswan necessitated the by-election, garnered 82,116 votes while his closest BJP rival Baby Kumari secured just 45,353.

The Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) of expelled Minister of State Mukesh Sahani, on whose list Musafir Paswan won the seat in 2020, finished a distant third with 29,671 votes.

VIP was a member of the NDA until about a month ago.

(Only the title and image of this report may have been edited by Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear reader,

Business Standard has always endeavored to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that matter to you and that have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your constant encouragement and feedback on how to improve our offering has only strengthened our resolve and commitment to these ideals. Even in these challenging times stemming from Covid-19, we remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative opinions and incisive commentary on relevant topical issues.
However, we have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more so that we can continue to bring you more great content. Our subscription model has received an encouraging response from many of you who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of bringing you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practice the journalism we are committed to.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

digital editor

Joseph K. Bennett